Strawberry Freezer Jam

2015-02-7--20-25-44

  It is strawberry season here is Pennsylvania!  The kids have been finding small wild strawberries on our path over to the farm these past couple of weeks. They love searching for them. Unfortunately they are not enough to do anything with. So the kids enjoy their little treat. Every year we will buy a few quarts of strawberries to enjoy. This year I wasn’t able to go pick them myself so I just bought them from Aldi. We will have them all sorts of ways, but one of my favorite things to make with them is Strawberry Freezer Jam. I will make enough of it to last us through the winter. I love being able to open up a jar of jam in the middle of the cold winter and have a little taste of summer and warm sunshine. It is fairly simple to make. Honestly the hardest part is not eating half of the strawberries while you are cutting them up.

IMG_0546
Don’t they look amazing!

After you rinse off your berries you will hull them and cut in quarters. I use my potato masher to mash them. You can also put them in your blender and pulse until they are the consistency that you like. I like to have little pieces of fruit in my jam, but if you would rather it smoother you could mash a bit more than I did mine.

IMG_0548IMG_0549

I make 2 quarts of berries at a time. It will equal about 4 cups of mashed berries.

IMG_0550

Next mix together your fruit pectin and sugar.

  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons Pectin

I am using instant pectin, that way I don’t have to cook anything. I can just mix it together. After you have the pectin and sugar mixed together add the pectin mixture to the berries and stir for 3 minutes. It is important to stir for the full 3 minutes. This will help to ensure that your jam with set and thicken. Spoon the jam into clean jars. I often use empty peanut butter jars. They are handy and a good size for us. You can really use any jar that you have as long as it is freezer safe and the top seals well. Make sure that you leave a 1/2 inch of headspace at the top of the jar because the jam will expand as it freezes. 2015-13-7--11-30-59 Then go ahead and put your jam in the freezer. If it even makes it that far. It is that good! It will last in the refrigerator for a couple of weeks. When you are ready to use it just take it out of the freezer and put it in the refrigerator until it thaws out. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

