Run The Race

This morning as I was doing my devotions I was really challenged. I often get very discouraged that things don’t go as I plan, or I don’t see things happening as quickly as I would like them to. As I was reading I was reminded that as we see what we want we need we need to set goals for ourselves to get there. It may be something like making a large life improvement or lifestyle change, or maybe it is something that may seem smaller but still makes a big impact. Whatever it may be we can’t let the thought of that end result seeming so big and out of reach that we don’t take any steps forward.

We need to first pray about it and make sure that are thoughts and plans are in line with God’s. Ask for His help and His guidance. I am only able to be who I am with Him leading and guiding me. So it makes perfect sense to start there.

Next we need to set goals. For me one thing that I struggle with is keeping my house as clean as I would like it. Now I know that it is not always going to look perfect. We have three small children in our house and it is going to look lived in. But there are things I can do to make it look better than it does. For example, in the middle of my kitchen I have a big island. I love it! It is one of my favorite parts of the kitchen, but because it is so large it tends to get cluttered really quickly. So I have decided that for the next week my goal is to keep my island clean and free of clutter. It may seem like something little and insignificant, but to me it is a big thing. It will take the stress level of “my house is a mess” down a notch. I have to start somewhere.

I am taking my situation and looking for one thing that I can to do to get to my end goal. Like running a race, if all you do it sit there and look way ahead to finish line and make no action you will never get there. To achieve your goal you have to take action, one step at a time. Each step has a purpose. Each step gets you closer to the finish line.

So as I look at my house I see one thing that I can do to improve it. I am going to make the commitment to take action. And the more that I do it the easier it will become. Keeping that island clean will become more of a habit. Once I have made that adjustment then I am ready to take the next step. And step by step I will get closer to my goal.

Now is the perfect time to take action! Stop just sitting there looking at the finish line and focus on the next step or even the first step. Make a commitment to run that race. However fast or slow you may go isn’t the issue, it is all about just moving towards the goal.

 

IMG_13340738015638

Leave a Reply

