Our First MOPS Meeting

2015-09-9--14-39-01

Well it finally came. Yesterday was our very first MOPS meeting. We have spent  so much time preparing for and praying about this. It is exciting to see it finally be here.

The turnout surprised all of us. There were more moms and children than we expected, which is amazing. It was a thrill seeing mom after mom walk through that door. I enjoyed talking to their little ones. Watching their faces as they dropped their children off with the childcare volunteers was priceless. The blessing that we can be to these moms is so rewarding. I am looking forward to making connections and building relationships with each one this year.

My good friend and one of the moms on our steering committee shared her story with us. She has an amazing testimony. She encouraged us to look at our own story as a mom and be mindful of the ups and downs. She reminded us look to those around us when we need support and also be an encouragement to others when we see that they are in need. We then used our discussion group time to get to know those in our group a little more closely, and to share some of our story. I really enjoyed talking to the other moms and hearing their thoughts. As a discussion group leader I am looking forward to that part of each MOPS meeting. I am excited for friendships we are forming.

As the creative activities leader I did a craft for the moms to put together. A friend of mine and fellow craft enthusiast actually put the craft together for me this time. Unfortunately me being forgetful as I am had to leave half of the supplies on my kitchen counter. So needless to say we were not able to complete the entire project, and I will take the rest of the supplies next time for them. I guess this is all about being real and I displayed that well.  HaHa!

I would like to show you what we made and give simple directions for you to make it for yourself if you would like.

0907151816
A shopping list or place to make notes for yourself.
Supplies Needed: ~ small wooden board ( I stained mine, but you could leave it natural if you would like) ~ roll of paper (like would go in a calculator) ~ piece of twine (about 15 inches long)~ large binder clip ~ large rubber band
Supplies Needed:
~ small wooden board ( I stained mine, but you could leave it natural if you would like)
~ roll of paper (like would go in a calculator)
~ piece of twine (about 15 inches long)~ large binder clip
~ large rubber band
0907151812
Place the binder clip at the top of the board. Put the twine in between the board and clip.
0907151814a
Thread the twine through the paper roll. Tie at the side. Stretch the rubber band around the bottom of the board. This will be used to keep the paper in place when it is rolled out.
Leave a Reply

